2018 Awards

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2018 at University Club of Chicago

2018 Awards

The 2018 Awards honored local leaders who are doing incredible work to create opportunities for Chicago kids

Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Cocktail Reception - 5:30pm
Awards Presentation - 6:00pm
University Club of Chicago
76 East Monroe Street
Chicago IL, 60603

Want to support our work?

100% of every donation that we receive goes directly to support quality programs for at-risk children in Chicago.

Donate Here

2018 Awards Honorees 

Champion for Children Award

Doug Mabie, 2018 Champion for Children Award

Doug Mabie is the Founder, Past President and current Director of Springboard Foundation, which was formed 21 years ago. Today the Springboard Foundation has supported 220 educational programs serving tens of thousands if inner-city children with $6 million in grants. Doug Mabie is also the Managing Director of Private Wealth Management at Baird and serves on the Board of Trustees for Denison University in Granville, Ohio and as a Director for the WGA/Evans Scholars Foundation in Golf, Illinois.Doug inspires with his kindness. According to Doug, one of the most important issues facing our city is the need to advocate and create opportunities for kids. “We need strong families, safe neighborhoods, good schools, jobs and professional opportunities for kids and young adults. If not our city will have no future.”

The Champion for Children Award recognizes an individual shown exceptional dedication to children as a civic or community leader. Past honorees include Gigi Pritzker and Thomas Hale.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Nancy Ronquillo, 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award

Nancy Ronquillo is the President and CEO of Children’s Home & Aid. She has worked to improve the lives of vulnerable and marginalized children and families for over 40 years. In her 17 years at Children’s Home and Aid, Nancy has implemented innovative programs and forged new partnerships to create bright futures for Chicago children and families. Nancy will be retiring from Children’s Home and Aid in June, 2019. Nancy’s belief that child-serving organizations have done a disservice to fathers by not consistently involving them in the services for their children led to the creation of the four-agency Power of Fathers partnership in 2016. Nancy also serves as the Founding Board Chair of Children’s Home Society of America and Illinois Partners for Human Service, and as a Board member of the National Veterans Art Museum.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the welfare of children in a professional capacity. Past honorees include Dr. Barbara Bowman and Alex Kotlowitz.

Ed Marciniak Bright Star Award

Marco Dodd, 2018 Ed Marciniak Bright Star Award

Marco Dodd is the Assistant Director of BGCC- Kidz Express.  He has been involved with Kidz Express since he was 10 years old. Marco leads a cross-age peer-mentoring group that equips high school students to mentor and tutor elementary students, leading to improved social relationships and greater academic success for both age groups. Under Marco’s leadership, this program has expanded from serving 50 students to the ability to serve 200. Marco will use the $5,000 honorarium that accompanies this award to continue his education career at Concordia University of Chicago, with the goal of continuing to better prepare himself for teaching and educating the youth of Chicago.

The Ed Marciniak Bright Star Award is given to an individual who shows great motivation and promise in their work with disadvantaged children. Past honorees include Mariame Kaba and Eduardo Bocanegra.

150th Anniversary Youth Engagement Award

Marco Dodd, 2018 Ed Marciniak Bright Star Award

Maria Paula Gareza Degillo is the Coordinator for Voices of Youth in Chicago Education (VOYCE) and Youth Director of Communities United. After being "counseled out" of her high school, Maria began volunteering with Communities United. She became one of the founders of Voices of Youth in Chicago Education (VOYCE) and served in VOYCE's initial cohort of youth researchers who examined the root causes for school dropout. VOYCE has become the leading organization in efforts to reform school discipline in Illinois, spearheading transformation of the Chicago Public Schools Code of Conduct and adoption of the nation's most comprehensive school discipline reform law.

The 150th Anniversary Youth Engagement Award is a special award given in celebration of Bright Promises Foundation’s 150th Anniversary and is accompanied by a $1,500 grant to the recipient’s organization.



Kreisman Family Foundation


Doug and Annie Mabie
Rodger and Janet Owen 
‍Azteca Foods, Inc.,


Prue and Frank Beidler
The Marciniak Family in memory of Ed Marciniak
Sendhil Revuluri and Venu Gupta 


Gaylord and William Gieseke
Margot and Tom Pritzker Family Foundation
Shari Runner
Nancy and Tim Snyder
Jon Will and Mary Gugenheim 
Quarles & Brady LLP

William Blair and Company

Gigi Pritzker Pucker, Michael Pucker and the Pritzker Pucker Family Foundation


Marjorie Craig Benton
Clarissa Cutler and Jim Swinerton
Bob and Barbara Finley
Jenni and M. Scott Gordon
Ron Manderschied
Jay and Bari Rosenbloom
Charlie Gofen
Neil Peck


Make It Better Media Sponsor


Sarah Stec

If you are interested in sponsoring the 2018 Awards please contact Katherine Dreher Korey at katherine.dreher@brightpromises.org or at 312-704-8260.

Download the 2018 Sponsor Information Packet

Host Committee

2018 Honorary Co-Chairs
Ricardo Estrada and Prudence Beidler**

2018 Host Committee
Mark Bacharach
Paul and Peggy Bodine
Eddie Bocanegra**
Dr. Barbara Bowman**
Marjorie Craig Benton**
Evette Cardona
Steven Casey
Clarissa Cutler and Jim Swinerton
Kimberly T. Duchossois
Sarah Duncan and Thomas McDougal
Sunny Fischer
Dr. Linda Gilkerson**
Charlie Gofen
Jenni and Scott Gordon
Geoff Gist
Thom Hale** and Silvia Bicalho
Francia Harrington and Vern Broders
Grace Hou
Toni Irving
Mariame Kaba**
Alex Kotlowitz**
Rebecca Levin
Ron Manderschied**
Dr. Dominica McBride**
Hoy and Patti McConnell
Karen & Jordan Mozer
Maria Munoz**
Neil Peck
Gigi Pucker Pritzker** and Michael Pucker
Margot and Tom Pritzker
Sejal Shah-Meyers
Jerome Stermer**
Arlene and Scott Szykowny
Kandace Thomas
Scheherazade Tillet**
Sarah Ward**
Bernice Weissbourd**
Leslie and Bob Zentner
**Past Recipient of Bright Promises’ Award

Contact us

For more information, please contact Katherine Dreher at katherine.dreher@brightpromises.org or 312-704-8260.